What time does the Frozen Four championship start? TV schedule, channel for 2022 college hockey title game

There is one more game in the 2021-22 NCAA hockey season and it comes down to Denver and Minnesota State.

The two teams meet in Boston Saturday to conclude this season’s Frozen Four with the national championship. The Pioneers are eyeing their ninth title in program history, which would tie Michigan for the most all-time. The Mavericks have never hoisted the Division I title in program history.

Carter Savoie advanced Denver to the championship with his overtime winner in the national semifinals on Thursday to pull out a 3-2 win over Michigan. On the other side, Minnesota State defeated Minnesota 5-1 in their semifinals matchup, with five different Mavericks potting goals in the win.

Both teams were top teams in the country all season long. Minnesota State entered the national playoffs as the No. 1 team in the country while Denver was No. 3. The two teams earned No. 1 seed for the regionals, where Minnesota State won the Albany region and Denver came out on top in the Loveland region.

MORE: NCAA hockey signings: Sabers ‘Owen Power, Blue Jackets’ Kent Johnson agree to entry-level contracts

Here is everything you need to know about the Denver-Minnesota State championship.

When is the Denver Vs. Minnesota State national championship?

  • Date: April 7
  • Time: 8 p.m.

The championship game will take place Saturday, April 9 at 8 pm ET.

How to watch the Denver vs. Minnesota State national championship?

Frozen Four TV schedule

The Denver-Minnesota State game will air live on ESPN2.

Canadian viewers can watch the game on TSN.ca or through the TSN app.

Frozen Four streaming options

For those looking to stream the Frozen Four game, it will be available on ESPN Watch, the ESPN app, and fuboTV, which offers a free trial.

Where is the NCAA Frozen Four being played?

  • Frozen Four location: TD Garden, Boston

The TD Garden is the home of the Bruins and the NBA’s Celtics. This is the eighth time the city has hosted the event.

It’s also home to the annual Beanpot, the annual college hockey tournament featuring the four major college hockey schools of the Boston area – Boston University, Boston College, Northeastern and Harvard.

Who are the past champions of the NCAA Frozen Four?

A number of programs have earned their first NCAA title over the past decade.

UMass, Union, Yale and Providence have won their first championship in the last 10 years. Go back another year, and Minnesota-Duluth earned its first national title in 2011. The Bulldogs later went back-to-back in 2018 and 2019.

On the flip side, Denver and North Dakota recently added their eighth title to their program histories. North Dakota came out on top in 2016, followed by Denver winning in 2017.

Here are all the Frozen Four tournament winners over the past 10 years:

  • 2021: UMass
  • 2020: Tournament canceled because of COVID-19
  • 2019: Minnesota Duluth
  • 2018: Minnesota Duluth
  • 2017: Denver
  • 2016: North Dakota
  • 2015: Providence
  • 2014: Union
  • 2013: Yale
  • 2012: Boston College

Who has won the most NCAA Frozen Fours?

Michigan has the most NCAA Division I men’s college hockey championships, with nine. Its last one came in 1998.

Denver and North Dakota have eight each. The Pioneers can pull into a tie with Michigan in 2022.

Wisconsin has six and Boston College, Boston University and Minnesota have five each. The Golden Gophers are aiming to pull into a tie for fourth on the list.

Minnesota State has never won a national championship.

Here is a look at all the past winners and how many times programs have won.

Michigan 9 1948, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1955, 1956, 1964, 1996, 1998
Denver 8 1958, 1960, 1961, 1968, 1969, 2004, 2005, 2017
North Dakota 8 1959, 1963, 1980, 1982, 1987, 1997, 2000, 2016
Wisconsin 6 1973, 1977, 1981, 1983, 1990, 2006
Boston College 5 1949, 2001, 2008, 2010, 2012
Boston University 5 1971, 1972, 1978, 1995, 2009
Minnesota 5 1974, 1976, 1979, 2002, 2003
Lake Superior State 3 1988, 1992, 1994
Michigan State 3 1966, 1986, 2007
Michigan Tech 3 1962, 1965, 1975
Minnesota Duluth 3 2011, 2018, 2019
Colorado College 2 1950, 1957
Cornell 2 1967, 1970
Tomorrow 2 1993, 1999
RPI 2 1954, 1985
Bowling Green 1 1984
Harvard 1 1989
UMass 1 2021
Northern Michigan 1 1991
Providence 1 2015
Union 1 2014
Yale 1 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button