Sam Jean to Play in the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship

David Cohen

Director / Strategic Brand Engagement

CINCINNATI – The University of Cincinnati’s Sam Jean has been selected for the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship. He becomes the first Bearcat, and seventh overall, to appear on the national since Austin Squires in 2019 and will do so at the Columbus Regional (OSU Golf Club) from May 16-18.

Jean is the No. 6 golfers in his field. The top five teams, as well as the top individual not on any of those squads, will advance to the Championship in Scottsdale, Ariz. (May 27-June 1). Other regional sites include College Station (Texas), Palm Beach Gardens (Florida), New Haven (Connecticut), Stockton (California) and Tuscaloosa (Alabama).

“I’m very happy for Sam,” the head coach Doug Martin said. “He deserves this great opportunity. He has achieved so much in his time at UC. He continues to be the consummate student-athlete. I look forward to watching him compete in Columbus.”

On Tuesday, Jean claimed his second-straight All-AAC Honor after leading the team with a 71.45 stroke average, the lowest for UC since 2019. He won Wisconsin’s Badger Invitational (Sept. 26-28) as part of five top-10 finishes on the year. He was also fifth in the season-opening Hoosier Collegiate Invite to help the Bearcats claim the team title.

Individuals joining Jean at the par-71, 7,422-yard Scarlet Course are Hunter Eichhorn (Marquette), Griffin Barela (Wisconsin), Patrick Sheehan (Penn State), Thomas Giroux (Oakland), Connor Burgess (Virginia Tech), Louis Olsakovsky ( Penn State), Cameron Huss (Wisconsin), Joe Muschong (Morehead State) and Anthony Delisanti (Valparaiso).

The participating teams (in seed order) are Oklahoma State, Georgia Tech, Arkansas, Clemson, East Tennessee State, Ohio State, Duke, Northwestern, Florida Gulf Coast, San Francisco, Kentucky, Wright State and Southern Illinois.

Squires also competed in the 2017 NCAA Regionals, the only Bearcat in school history with multiple bids. Other representatives include David Tepe (2013), Jon Nichols (1974), Geoff Hensley (1969) and George McManis (1965). Squires’ 21st-place finish in 2017 was the highest in school history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button