Questions over selection of national sports awardees

The Ministry for Youth and Sports will today congratulate 85 sports personalities for eight years – 2013 to 2020 – with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina joining the event virtually, but the selection process of the awards has raised quite a few questions.

This is the first time in six years that the national sports awards will be distributed and state minister for youth and sports, Zahid Ahsan Russel, at a press conference today, hoped that they would continue the practice next year too.

For all the latest news, follow The Daily Star’s Google News channel.

However, when asked whether the selection process was questionable, Russel said, “Yes, it is dishonorable for athletes to seek recognition by applying themselves but we have to accept the country’s policy.

“And we can’t go beyond this process if someone doesn’t apply for the national sports awards. However, we will look into the matter in the future and see if it can be flexible for the prominent sportspersons who don’t want to apply. for the national sports awards themselves. “

A few names of the national sports awards from 2013 to 2020 came under scrutiny as many felt some more prominent names have been missing from the list while lesser ones have found their place in it. The sports minister said the names of awardees for six years between 2013 to 2018 were selected before his term.

“The winners of the national sports awards have been selected through three sub-committees before the cabinet meeting approved the final list of awardees. Under my leadership, only 2019 and 2020 awardees have been selected by the sub-committees,” informed Russel.

The awardees are:


Shaheed Lt Sheikh Jamal (Player and organizer)

Late Afzalur Rahman Sinha (Organizer)

Nazmul Abedeen Fahim (Cricket Coach)

Mohammad Mohsin (Footballer)

M Mahbubul Ehsan Rana (Hockey Player)

GM Abdullah Al Rakib (Chess Player)

Nilufa Yeasmin (Athlete)

M Abdul Kader Smaran (Shuttler-Mentally challenged)


Tanvir Mazhar Islam Tanna (Organizer)

Late Arun Chandra Chakma (Organizer)

Lt Gen (Rtd) M Hand of Islam (Organizer)

Dipu Roy Chowdhury (Cricketer)

Kazi Nabil Ahmed (Organizer)

Enthekhabul Hamid Apu (Organizer)

Mahfuza Rahman Tania (Swimmer)

Farhana Sultana Shila (Cyclist)

Tutul Kumar Nag (Hockey Player)

Mahbubur Rob (Shuttler)

Sadia Akter Urmi (Table Tennis player – Mentally challenged)


Farida Akter Begum (Organizer)

Josna Afros (Athlete)

M Rafiqul Ullah Akter Milon (Organizer)

Kazi Anwar Hossain (Footballer)

Shawkat Ali Khan Jahangir (Organizer)

Mir Robiuzzaman (Gymnast)

Mohammad Alamgir Alo (Hockey player)

Tayed Hasan Shamsuzzaman (Referee)

Nibedita Das (Swimmer)

Mahmud Hasan Rana (Organizer)


Shahria Sultana (Weightlifter)

Awlad Hossain (Karateka)

Wasif Ali (Basketball player)

Sheikh Bashir Ahmed Mamun (Organizer)

M Selim Mia (Swimmer)

M Khorshed Alam (Organizer)

Abu Yousuf (Footballer)

ATM Shamsul Alam (Organizer)

Rahima Khanm Juthi (Athlete)

Asaduzzaman Kohinoor (Organizer)

M Mahabub Harun (Hockey player)


Mohammad Moniruzzaman (Swimmer)

AK Sarkar (Organizer)

Sultana Parveen Lovely (Athlete)

Shamim-al-Mamun (Organizer)

Arif Khan Joy (Footballer)

Khandokar Rokibul Islam (Footballer)

Mohammad Jalal Younus (Organizer)

M Tofazzal Hossain (Athlete)

Kazal Datta (Weightlifter)

M Tabiur Rahman Paloan (Organizer)

Late Z Alarm (Organizer)

Late Abdur Razzak Sona Mia (Hockey player)

Habibul Bashar (Cricketer)


Professor Dr. Sheikh Abdus Salam (Organizer)

M Ahmedur Rahman (Gymnast and Organizer)

Ahmed Sajjadul Alam (Organizer)

Late Khaza Rahmatullah (Hockey player)

Mahtabur Rahman Bulbul (Basketball player and Organizer)

Farhad Jesmin Lity (Athlete)

Barun Bikash Dewan (Footballer)

Rehana Jaman (Swimmer)

Jewel Rana (Footballer)

Jesmin Akhter (Multiple sports)

Sheuli Akhtar Sathi (Badminton player)


Late Shamsul Bari (Hockey player and Organizer)

Enayet Hossain Siraj (Organizer)

Fazlur Rahman Babul (Organizer)

Syed Shahed Reza (Organizer)

Imtiaz Sultan Johnny (Footballer)

Mohammad Ehsan Namim (Hockey player)

Kamrunnesa (Athlete)

M Shamsul Islam (Swimmer)

Murel Gomes (Athlete)

Jobaidur Rahman Rana (Badminton player)


Mozaffar Hossain Poltu (Organizer)

Kazi Mahtab Uddin Ahmed (Organizer)

Wing Cdr (Rtd) Mohyuddin Ahmed (Organizer)

Shamsul Haque Chowdhury (Organizer)

M Shahjahan Miji (Swimmer)

Rokeya Begum Khuki (Athlete)

Munira Morshed Khan Helen (Table Tennis player)

M Ilias Hossain (Footballer)

Josna Akhtar (Athlete)

Bhola Lal Chowhan (Squash player)

Khaled Mahmud (Cricketer)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button