Local News: NMCC Class of 2022 earns $ 209,700 in scholarships (5/23/22)

The George Washington Carver Certificate honors those students in the top 10 percent of the class. The recipients for the New Madrid County Central High School Class of 2020 are, from left: Eliza McSpadden, Martavius ​​Hopkins, Joycelynne Jackson, Riley Polk, Avery Fowler, Austin Eddy, Mara Murphy, Olivia Nelson and Cherikee Morgan.

Jill Bock / Standard Democrat

NEW MADRID, Mo. – The New Madrid County Central High School Class of 2022 has taken the motto written on the wall of the school’s commons to heart: Soar Like an Eagle.

As this year’s Senior Awards Ceremony opened, Central High School Principal Justin Poley pointed out the class had received $ 209,700 in scholarships and awards to continue their education.

Poley would go on to call the NMCC Class of 2022 “a special class. They will definitely be successful in life. They work too hard. They do too much. They care too much. ”

Presented with the Missouri A + Scholarship at the New Madrid County Central High School’s senior awards banquet on May 16 were, from left: Adam Nevel, Olivia Nelson, Eliza McSpadden, Samantha McElroy, Jalcia Johnson, Hailey Elder, Isis Ducker, Charity Carnell, Latavia Brooks, Ja’Mian Golden and Marcellous Phillips. Also earning the scholarship were Matt Riley and Landon Boggs.

Jill Bock / Standard Democrat

This year’s scholarship winners announced at the May 16 ceremony were:

Bootheel Regional Women’s Show Scholarship – Mary Craver

SEMO Electric Cooperative Scholarship valued at $ 800 each – Latavia Brooks, Delaney Cooksey, Hailey Elder, Avery Fowler, Ja’Mian Golden, Samantha McElroy, Ethan Moore

Marcelous Phillips, left, was one of three recipients of the Detrae Hicks Memorial Scholarship at New Madrid County Central High School’s senior awards ceremony. Presenting the scholarships were Yolanda Hicks and Arianna Hicks.

Jill Bock / Standard Democrat

Delta Waterfowl Scholarship – Delaney Cooksey, Matt Riley

AECI Power Plant Scholarship – Martavius ​​Hopkins

National Archery in Schools Program Scholarship – Rachael Ross

Madison Lane, left, gets a hug from Jessie Harris after receiving the Jim Harris Scholarship at the New Madrid County Central High School Senior Awards Banquet on May 16. Lane, who plans to study welding, also received the Gary Cook Rentals Scholarship.

Jill Bock / Standard Democrat

Hope Exchange Scholarship – Riley Polk, Delaney Cooksey

Veterans of Foreign Wars – Daesean Sanders, Kaela Clark, Delaney Cooksey, Shia Fountain, Avery Fowler, Joycelynne Jackson, Maggie Langley, Samantha McElroy, Ethan Moore, Olivia Nelson, Matt Riley, Hannah Spears, Riley Young

American Legion Post 595 – Joycelynne Jackson, Ethan Moore, Olivia Nelson, Riley Polk, Jakob Wilcox

Jimmya Caldwell-Newsom accepts the Betty Joyce and Jim Dambach Scholarship from Harvey Graham on behalf of the Methodist Men’s Association. Caldwell-Newsom, a member of the New Madrid County Central High School’s Class of 2022, received several other academic scholarships and awards during the school’s senior awards banquet. Also she was recognized for her athletic abilities and was named the Female Athlete of the Year.

Jill Bock / Standard Democrat

Big Prairie Jaycees – Delaney Cooksey, Hailey Elder, Maggie Langley, Samantha McElroy, Ethan Moore

Gavin Long Memorial Scholarship – Martavius ​​Hopkins, Ethan Moore

Jim Harris Scholarship – Madison Lane

CTA Scholarship – Austin Eddy, Avery Fowler

Datrae Hicks Memorial Scholarship valued at $ 1,200 – Jimmya Caldwell-Newsom, Martavius ​​Hopkins, Marcelous Phillips

Eagles – Maggie Langley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button