Golf season moves up a gear

Enda Breslin and Brendan O’Mahony after they finished their round in the Men’s Senior Competition.

The golf season really moved up a gear this week with the first major in both branches being played, the Committee of Management Prize. The course presented in absolutely outstanding condition on both occasions. It is a credit to David Perdisatt and all the greens and ground staff for this work coming to fruition in perfect timing.

The weekend play of the men’s branch proved to be exceptionally challenging with very slick and fast greens and strong winds in beautiful sunshine. If the course enjoys a little bit of heat and natural irrigation in the coming weeks, the playing conditions throughout 2022 should be excellent.

Men’s Branch Senior Competition

This week’s competition, aided by kind weather conditions, attracted a large field of almost 80 entrants. The Winner was Noel Murphy with 22 Stableford points and 31 bonus points for a total of 53. Noel, playing some very steady golf, managed four pars and scored on all but one hole.

Runner-up was Brendan Coady with 20 Stableford points and 31 bonus points also for a total of 51 points. Third overall was Willie Geraghty with 21 Stableford points and 29 bonus points for a total of 50. Best Super Senior was Donald Bell with a total of 46 points, while Super Super Senior was Eamon Galligan with 45 points.

Golfer of the day was Michael Duffy who had five pars and a birdie during his round for a score of 23 Stableford points while the pick out Winner was Colm McHugh.

Congratulations to all the Prize winners and those who played on the day.

Committee of Management Prize

The Committee of Management Prize for men was played over Saturday and Sunday April 23 and 24 off the Blue tees. An outstanding entry in very difficult conditions with fast greens and high Winds in Glorious Sunshine ensured golf of the highest quality would be required.

Overall Winner on the day was Patrick Donohoe [18] with 68 nett. Category 1 went to Paddy Poynton [8] with 71 nett, Category 2 went to Derek Ruane [13] with 69 nett, Category 3 went to Aidan Mulligan [18] with 70 nett while Category 4 went to Shea O’Callaghan [28] with 73 net. Senior Winner was Eamonn Shaw [10] with 70 nett.

Well done to all prizewinners and competitors and here’s to the 2022 season.

Next Week’s competition, Sunday May 1

Next week’s competition is an 18-hole Stableford competition played from the Blue tees and is very kindly Sponsored by JJ McNamee tires. Please get on and book your slot, times are filling up fast.

Last week’s 18-hole competition was Strokeplay and our first Major of the 2022 season, the Committee of Management Prize. With 97 entries, the Winner was Nuala Lynam who had 73 net from 2nd Siobhan O’Donnell Murphy 74 net. In third place was Barbara Gilmartin with 75 nett from fourth Jean Bennett with 75 nett and fifth was Dorothy O’Keeffe with 76 nett.

Class 1 Winner Laura Witter Lee had 76 net, Class 2 Winner Nancy Cooney had 76 net while Class 3 Winner Martha Reynolds had 76 net.

The 18-hole Senior Winner was Kay Browne with 76 nett. The Super Senior Winner was Ber Chambers with 83 nett. Front nine Winner was Mary Taaffe with 34 nett while the back nine Winner was Enda Kavanagh with 38 nett. Our nine-hole competition winners were 1st Angela Wall on 19 points from second Siobhan Moore, also on 19 points. Senior Winner was Anne Eighan with 17 points and the Super Senior Winner was Mary Fay with 17 points.

This Wednesday is an 18-hole Stableford kindly Sponsored by Buckley’s SuperValu and Center.

Presentation Night

The first presentation night of the ladies branch took place last Wednesday at the clubhouse and it was a most enjoyable evening. Congratulations to the winners and a very big thank you to our very kind and generous sponsors.

Elizabeth Arden Evening

The Elizabeth Arden Skincare and Make-Up event takes place at the clubhouse this Wednesday evening April 27 at 7pm Hosted by Michelle Hogan of the Shaws Department Store in Mullingar. Tickets are € 10 and available at the door. Please be invited.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button