Columbia Athletics to Host 99th Annual Varsity C Celebration Tuesday Night

NEW YORK – Columbia University Athletics will host the 99th Annual Varsity C Celebration, its annual year-end awards ceremony, on Tuesday, May 3 at Levien Gymnasium inside the Dodge Fitness Center. Door open at 4 pm and the official program begins at 5 pm A dinner reception is planned for 6:30 pm

Modeled after the popular ESPYS awards show, the Varsity C Celebration serves as the final gathering event for all of Columbia’s 800-plus student-athletes with the purpose of showcasing achievements and milestones. The highest honors will be bestowed on several of the Lions’ brightest stars. In addition to the presentation of several major awards, the evening will feature videos and highlights celebrating major moments and achievements accomplished this year. Individual sports program award winners will also be recognized during the event.

The male and female finalists for the prestigious Connie S. Maniatty Award and William V. Campbell Performer of the Year Award have been announced and are listed below. Additionally, Columbia Athletics student-athletes and fans had the chance to take to social media to vote for their favorite men’s and women’s Plays, Performances and Games of the Year over the past week. The fan-voted winners will also be announced during Tuesday night’s ceremony.

The Connie S. Maniatty Award is given annually to the top senior male and female student-athletes in recognition for their outstanding Columbia careers. The William V. Campbell Performer of the Year will be presented to one male and one female student-athlete who demonstrates superior athletic ability during the 2021-22 academic year. Two student-athletes will also be presented with Rookie of the Year Awards for top student-athletes in their first year with Columbia Athletics.

In addition to those six awards, Columbia also announces winners for the Paul E. Fernandes Community Service Awardwhich is presented to the varsity sports program which achieves the most significant contributions and remarkable service to the University and local communities during each academic year, the Lions Cupwhich honors the most outstanding team on the basis of points in several categories including academic, athletic, personal and social responsibility, and the Karen Blank Awardwhich honors the top senior female student-athlete enrolled at Barnard College and who exemplifies the qualities of academic success, athletic achievement, strong sporting behavior & commitment to community.

Columbia Athletics will also present senior watch awards to senior student-athletes earning the highest cumulative grade point averages with at least two varsity letters: the Marion R. Philips Watch and the Dwight D. Eisenhower Watch.

American Sports Administrator Sunil Gulati will serve as Master of Ceremonies. From 2006-18 Gulati served as the President of the United States Soccer Federation (USSF), also held the position of Major League Soccer Deputy Commissioner from its launch in 1999 before becoming President of Kraft Soccer Properties, a position he served until 2011. He was intimately involved in the rise of the US Men’s National Team’s rise to prominence. Gulati earned his Master of Arts and Master of Philosophy in Economics from Columbia University and currently works as a Senior Lecturer in Columbia’s Department of Economics.

Planning for this year’s celebration was coordinated in conjunction with a Student-Athlete Planning Committee consisting of Diksha Aurobindo, Anabelle Brodeur, Kaitlyn Davis, Alexis Florio, Evan Loesel, Maddy Rifenberick, Maya Walker, and Jennifer Wang.

To support the 99th Annual Varsity C Celebration, and our student-athletes, make a gift HERE.



Women’s Finalists (5)
Sylvie Binder, Fencing
Meghan Collins, Archery
Kelsey Farkas, Field Hockey
Jennifer Kerr, Tennis
Maria Pagane, Softball

Men’s Finalists (5)
Jonas Kistorp, Swimming & Diving
Sidarth Kumbla, Fencing
Ben Mathiasmeier, Football
Mike Roussos, Football
Velavan Senthilkumar, Squash


Women’s Finalists (6)
Phoebe Anderson, Cross Country / Track & Field
Nora Burke, Fencing
Kaitlyn Davis, Basketball
Abbey Hsu, Basketball
Sachiko Keane, Archery
Abby Stuart, Softball

Men’s Finalists (6)
Ashton Daniel, Fencing
Nathan Han, Golf
Matt Kazimir, Wrestling
Alex Kotzen, Tennis
Dante Miller, Football
Jonathan Suckow, Diving


Women’s Finalists (6)
Phoebe Anderson, Cross Country / Track & Field
Simmi Chan, Squash
Kitty Henderson, Basketball
Farida Mohamed, Squash
Nata Ramirez, Soccer
Zander Rhodes, Fencing

Men’s Finalists (6)
Michael Danzi, Cross Country / Track & Field
Demirkan Demir, Swimming & Diving
Joe Green, Football
Anton Lazits, Baseball
Joshua Ogunsanya, Wrestling
Geronimo Rubio De La Rosa, Basketball

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button