Coffman, Butler and Robbins earn All-Horizon League Golf honors Athletics

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Cleveland State golf program had three student-athletes earn top conference honors as the Horizon League announced its 2022 #HLGOLF All-League Awards on Friday. Sabrina Coffman was named to the Women’s First Team All-League Squad while Zach Robbins was selected for the Men’s Second Team. Madison Butler also earned a nod to the Women’s Second Team, respectively.

Coffman earned top team honors after an outstanding season in her first year with the Vikings program. The senior from Toledo, Ohio recorded four top-four finishes in the Spring which included a tie for third at the Youngstown Spring Invite and ties for fourth at the Dolores Black Invite, Colonel Classic and Nevel Meade Collegiate. She went on to lead the Vikes at the Horizon League Championships with an eighth-place finish.

As a newcomer, Sabrina came in and made a big impact for us, “Women’s head Coach Ryan Williams said.” She had a lot of great results this season and helped lead the team to the success we had. “

Robbins was a Second Team selection on the men’s side, the second All-League Honor of his career. The Grand Rapids, Michigan native led the Vikes with a tied for ninth-place performance at the Horizon League Championships. His Spring also included a tied for sixth showing at NKU’s The Jewell, and the top CSU finishes at the Wexford Intercollegiate, the Orlando Invitational, and the Bobby Nichols Intercollegiate.

Robbins was also awarded the top league Honor to conclude the 2019 season.

“I am happy that all of Zach’s hard work is being recognized,” director of CSU golf Steve Weir said. “Zach worked hard not just this year, but his entire career to try and improve not only himself; but our team. Zach will go on to do great things!”

Butler was a Second Team honoree for the women after she had the best season of her career to close her time at CSU. The Medina, Ohio native was co-Champion at the Youngstown Spring Invite and placed third overall at the Nevel Meade Collegiate. She also added a top-10 finish at the 2022 Horizon League Championships.

“Maddie capped off an extraordinary career with another great season,” Williams added. “She was extremely consistent and reliable for us. I am really proud of both of them and this is a great Honor to be named All-League.”

2022 #HLGOLF Award Winners

Men’s Golfer of the Year

Tyler Goecke, Wright State

Women’s Golfer of the Year

Amalia dating in Shahzan, Oakland

Men’s Golf Freshman of the Year

Sam McWilliams, IUPUI

Women’s Golf Freshman of the Year

Caylie Kotlowski, Green Bay

Men’s Golf Coach of the Year

Conner Lash, Wright State

Women’s Golf Coach of the Year

Alyssa Gaudio Guss, Oakland

Men’s Golf All-League First Team

Thomas Giroux, Oakland

Kasey Lilly, Purdue Fort Wayne

Tyler Goecke, Wright State

Mikkel Mathiesen, Wright State

Bryce Haney, Wright State

Women’s Golf All-League First Team

Sabrina Coffman, Cleveland State

Ashley Kulka, Green Bay

Amelie dating in Switzerland, IUPUI

Amalia dating in Shahzan, Oakland

Puthita Khuanrudee, Youngstown State

Men’s Golf All-League Second Team

Zach Robbins, Cleveland State

Josh Nagy, RMU

Cole Corder, Wright State

Ken Keller, Youngstown State

Kevin Scherr, Youngstown State

Women’s Golf All-League Second Team

Madison Butler, Cleveland State

Alexa Hatz, Detroit Mercy

Isabelle dating in Maleki, Green Bay

Megan Tang, UIC

Danae Rugola, Youngstown State


Keep up to date with everything Cleveland State Golf. Follow @CSU_Golf on Twitter@csu_golf on Instagram and subscribe to the Cleveland State Athletics Youtube channel.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button